Scorpion

July 5, 2010

It hid amongst the caramelized and crisp leaves; armored form of efficient menace coiled and waiting.

Its black eyes stared at me as my face

 moved closer. Bound and determined, I was, to face it and drink the fear of its poison like some hard liquor. It unwound its tail, stinger glistening with venom and afternoon dew. I opened my mouth and smiled.

One lone drop of its poison beaded and dropped upon my tongue–the bittersweet tincture heated the inside of me.

Stung less than I expected

Leave a Reply

